Loading...

Tarryn M., Nanny in Hull

  • 31 years old, 2 years of experience
  • Occasional
  • Part Time / After School
  • Full Time
  • Languages spoken:
    No languages added.
  • Nationality:
  • Experience:
    2 years of experience
  • Drivers License No
    First Aid certificate No
  • Access to a vehicle No
    Has children No
  • Non smoker Yes
MESSAGE

Full time nanny

I have always felt that I had to be a role model and mentor for my younger siblings as my parents separated at a young age. This has meant I have taken an active role in their growing up and development along with being a part of their education through volunteering in their schools. I loved doing this and this is one of the strongest motivations for applying to become a teaching assistant, hopefully leading onto to help me become a qualified teacher in the future. I have participated in teaching wherever I could and have previously acted as classroom support for my mother who was a secondary school teacher in South Africa. I received permission from the school to assist my mother regularly, and this has given me experience of the classroom environment and allowed me to learn somewhat from her. As a result I have seen the varying role that a teacher plays and experienced the rapport that can be built between tutor and student.

In the summer of 2008 I had the opportunity to act as Governess for two Greek children on the island of Mykonos. Whilst with the family I looked after the children daily and undertook a range of activities with them. This included teaching the children English, making Arts and Crafts with them as well as some basic numeracy. The success I achieved in this role demonstrates not only my ability to interact with children but also gave me the opportunity to work in a different culture. My own experience, having lived as an expat in a number of foreign states, I hope will allow me to easily interact and identify with a diverse range of students from varying cultural backgrounds.

The age group I ideally want to work with is 3 ' 16. I feel this is an age range I can relate to the needs of having assisted with my brothers. This is also an age group which is at an important stage of development which I feel I could influence for the better. I am also used to interacting with this age group due to taking part in an after school care scheme. This involved keeping the children entertained whilst at the same time encouraging them with completing their homework or additional reading and projects. .
I also took the opportunity whilst attending school to join the 'Early Birds' scheme. As part of this scheme I would spend an hour and a half each morning helping the younger children of the school. This support for the younger members of the school assisted with their literacy, improving both their reading and writing skills. This benefited the students greatly and allowed the pupils to ask questions that they were too embarrassed to bring up in front of the class. This scheme proved to be successful and was widely praised by teachers, as it benefited both the students and the staff. The teachers also met with us regularly to discuss any issues we felt needed to be addressed more formally.

Availability Tarryn

M T W T F S S
6h / 8h
8am - 10am
10am - 12pm
12pm - 2pm
2pm - 4pm
4pm - 6pm
6pm - 8pm
20h / 24h
Night

Professional Experience: 2 years of experience

Location