Loading...

Laura T., English tutor, math tutor, homework help in Corby

  • 61 years old, More than 10 years of experience
  • , 20.00/hour
  • Science
  • Languages
  • Computer science
  • Music
  • Help with homework
  • Verification Status

    The address, phone number, ID and diplomas of this profile have been manually reviewed by our team.

  • Reply rate :
    100%
  • Languages spoken:
    English (Native Language)
  • Nationality:
    British
  • Experience:
    More than 10 years of experience
  • Drivers License Yes
    First Aid certificate No
  • Access to a vehicle Yes
    Has children No
MESSAGE

Experienced Primary Tutor

Hello
I am a qualified teacher and tutor with many years' experience. I have also trained as a Reading Recovery teacher, specialising in helping children who are struggling with early reading. I have a current DBS certificate and am qualified in paediatric first aid.
I am available to tutor Primary age children in English and Mathematics. Usually, I work from home, but may be prepared to travel if expenses are paid. I have taught children with many different types of special educational needs, including those with Down's Syndrome, Asperger's Syndrome, deafness, sight problems and achondroplasia. I have also taught children who are gifted and talented. I know a little British Sign Language and some Makaton signs. I can support homework, and am willing to liaise with the child's school, if necessary.
I am also willing to tutor children who are excluded from mainstream education.
Please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss your child's needs.
Laura

Availability Laura

Professional Experience: More than 10 years of experience

  • From 12-1998 Until 08-2003

    I tutored Harriet, a young child who has Down's Syndrome, during her years at primary school. I was able to adapt my tutoring to her needs, as she was a very visual learner, by liaising with the local advisory teacher for Down's Syndrome and also with Harriet's teachers. She made rapid progress with reading and this helped her develop her vocabulary too. I developed games to support her in mathematics, which she loved to play. My time with Harriet also enabled the family to spend some time with their other children, knowing Harriet was in safe hands.

More about Laura

I have a BEd 2:1 degree in English with Qualified Teacher Status. I work part-time teaching reading in an infant school. I like reading, crafting, travelling and swimming. I love being out in the countryside.

Location