Loading...

Sue O., Babysitter in Littlehampton

  • 55 years old, 10 years of experience
  • Occasional
  • Part Time / After School
  • Full Time
  • Verification Status

    The address, phone number, ID and diplomas of this profile have been manually reviewed by our team.

  • Languages spoken:
    No languages added.
  • Nationality:
  • Experience:
    10 years of experience
  • Drivers License Yes
    First Aid certificate No
  • Access to a vehicle No
    Has children No
MESSAGE

Babysitting

I have been working with children since I was 20, when I was an au pair in France. After training as an illustrator, I enjoyed artist's residencies in two primary schools, along with art workshops for Littlehampton Museum and other places, and Sunday School and youth work. Between 2001 and 2013 I ran my own business, teaching French in after school French clubs and in private tuition. Ages ranged from 4 to 17+. I worked as Education Officer at Look and Sea Centre, Littlehampton, for a fixed term between 2009 and 2011. I organised and ran school and community visits (pre-school to pensioners), maintained associated record keeping, undertook risk assessment, health & safety, and gave educational talks. I ran workshops and other events,and managed volunteers, writing child protection policy and delivering training on this.
Between 2005 and 2013 I was also an adult education tutor, teaching art and French. During this time, I obtained my Certificate in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector, which covered inclusion, special educational needs, equality and diversity; as well as all other aspects of teaching, and being a reflective practitioner. I am now training to be a primary school teacher, developing all the areas I studied and practised on my CTLLS course to a greater depth, both theoretically and practically in school.
As a young grandmother I enjoy looking after my two grandsons, one of whom has high functioning autism. We create a safe environment for him, where he knows his routine, and we appreciate his singing and acting abilities, as well as his difficulties with motor skills. We also try to ensure that his brother's needs and artistic skills are not overshadowed.
I have a varied experience of working with children with different needs and in different contexts. I try to treat each child I care for according to their strengths and needs, encouraging and celebrating their achievements, great or small. References are available.

Availability Sue

Professional Experience: 10 years of experience

Location